What was once called the ‘Concealed Handgun License’ (CHL), has now been combined with Open Carry, and is now officially “License To Carry” (LTC). This is the official State-approved course through The Department of Public Safety for both Open Carry and Concealed Carry within the state of Texas.
There is only one course and one license, as it will allow you to carry both Open or Concealed as needed in public (or allowed on a certain property). The State of Texas did recently approve Open Carry in January 2016, however you still need this course and State license in order to allow you to do so, as it was not an automatic Open Carry to everyone.
CHECK OUT OUR VIDEO BELOW BEFORE YOU CONTACT US OR SIGN UP- A MUST SEE!!
Only $35.00 per student & FREE for all U.S. Military Veterans – can’t beat that !!
Only 4 hours of classroom, a short quiz, a trip to the range nearby and you are done.
To obtain a License To Carry (LTC), the State of Texas requires successful completion of a certified course given by State certified Instructors which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers four main topics (four food groups) on: Texas Laws, Handgun Use & Safety, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, and Proper Gun Storage.
The Department of Public Safety has designed this course which all Instructors must follow to the “T” without any alterations to their program, course outline, standards, or information provided. The official course can be no less than four hours which cannot include breaks, lunch, testing, or range qualification.
All students must attend the entire course given by licensed LTC Instructors, pass a written exam (25 questions), and qualify ‘safely’ with a firearm using the provided DPS course of fire and a B-27 target.
TCTA’s course will run a total time from start to finish of approximately seven hours. Each student that successfully completes the course will receive the signed form (CHL-100), which is then sent to DPS (by the student), for your license.
TCTA, like all training schools, is not issuing you a license – only the required certificate of completion will be given if you pass the class. Our class fees do not include any fees you must still pay The Department of Public Safety for your license and background check.
Concealed weapons permit class
With military and law enforcement backgrounds which far exceed most basic CHL/License to Carry or NRA Instructors, to include run a full-time security academy, we will provide you with outstanding training packed with a wealth of legal and practical knowledge.
We will be inducing the same quality training we have been providing on the security side for the last eight years to the LTC program. To date, TCTA has trained well over 5,000 students and counting; many of which are return customers and referrals.
When it comes to using your firearm to defend yourself, your family, and your property, you want to ensure you have the education and training to be protected legally. We not only want to ensure you are trained to survive a violent encounter, but we also want to ensure you survive a court battle which may take place after the fact.
You won’t have to pay $75.00 – $150.00 for a LTC class ever again…
Those days are over!
We agree, there are many outstanding tactical handgun classes and advanced weapon courses out there; however, no LTC class is meant to be that, so why waste your money going elsewhere if it is only the basic LTC certification that you seek?
Being taught how to defend yourself, proper gun safety, and what the laws are should not cost an arm and a leg for a one-day basic gun class.
At TCTA, we have the consumer and their budget in mind. We know times are tough, and with gun prices and ammunition on the rise, we wanted to offer everyone a great price for a short class to get you going, certified, and protected.
Free class for all U.S. Military Veterans* and only $35.00 for everyone else!!
We provide free weapon rentals to use if needed by our students. Come use our brand new HK-Vp9s.
Go to Our Schedule Page to Reserve Your Seat Today!
Texas License to Carry course guidelines
Due to the fact that the Department of Public Safety has designed this class and has specific guidelines that all LTC Instructors must follow their class format, this restricts all LTC Instructors from doing their own thing or adding in course points not in the DPS syllabus.
What does this mean?
That being said, if all the License to Carry classes are a ‘cookie-cutter templated course,’ then why pay double or triple for the same class we are offering?
We have the same exact course and test that all License to Carry Instructors have, and the experience to back up our training. Come to TCTA and save some big bucks!!!
Prior to the change, the old CHL class used to be 12 hours and generally were given over the course of 2 days. At that time, CHL Instructors were charging $75 – $150.00 per student and rightfully so.
Training security professionals, and private citizens for over seven years.
Now that the classes have been reduced by the Department of Public Safety in hours to half of what it was, we have noticed that many CHL/LTC Instructors are still charging $75 – $150.00 for this short class, which is ridiculous.
Most places will add in a breakfast or lunch as an enticement to go to their establishment, but conceal the fact that you’re paying almost $25.00 – $100.00 extra for their class… must be a great meal at an extra $25.00 -$100.00 right?
Some offer nothing extra and still remain at the $75 – $150.00 rate, while our price is only $35.00 and free for veterans. We won’t bait you with a free meal or snack; we want to provide you with an excellent training experience and well-rounded course.
With our savings you can buy your own meal and an extra box or two of ammunition to train some more – the smarter choice. We depend on the fact that our customers come to be properly trained by professionals and not baited with snacks and meals as a distraction to a serious subject matter and course.
Our LTC Instructors are certified and taught by the Texas Department of Public Safety to teach this course.
You also won’t have to meet us at a hotel room, coffee shop, our home, or backroom like some under-budget CHL/LTC Instructors will have you do. We have an established, clean office and training location for you to come to.
We Look Forward To Training With You.
Ready to Sign Up for Our Concealed Handgun Class,
*Military veterans must provide Military ID, or a DD214 to receive their free seat. Free Military offer will be limited to only ten seats per class, so book in advance. Range fees and ammunition are not included for any student with our price or offer but free weapon rentals will be included.