Education • Training • Certification
TEXAS SECURITY LEVEL-2 NON-COMMISSION OFFICER COURSE
The Level 2 Non-Commission security course introduces you to the industry; will advise you on the laws and regulations you must follow and provides you with a solid foundation and starting point of what private security is all about. You will be given basic instruction on licensing, regulations, procedures, and operations of a security officer/company, report writing, and responding to emergencies, among many other topics. All students, upon successful completion of the class, will receive a certificate of completion (accepted by the state of Texas and every licensed security agency), in order to process your state license.
NOTICE: It is a criminal offense in the state of Texas to perform any type of security-related work without a license, regardless if you or your employer avoid using the term “security” (such as: courtesy officer, event staff, bouncer, etc). See section at the bottom of the page.
“Mr. Jones is extremely knowledgeable not only in security but in the Texas penal code. The courses are extremely informative and definitely worth the time and money. Customer service at TCTA is outstanding. Outstanding job guys keep up the amazing hospitality and customer service. I wouldn’t want to take a security course anywhere else. I would recommend these guys to everyone.”-Dom Robards
Note: You do not have to be employed prior to taking this class
OFFICIAL STATE COURSE: Only $30.00 – NOW ONLINE ONLY WITH NO TIME REQUIRMENT!!
DPS has removed the time standards on this class, from 1702. OCC and DPS -RSD admin rules for whatever reason- therefore there is no longer a minimum time requirement. This class is now ONLY given by us online for $30.00 ( if you take the Lv 2 by itself it is $30.00 but FREE if you take the Lv2 and Lv3 together). Other online schools are charging $50.-$65. for this same class, do not overpay and take it through us. This takes most students an hour or two to complete and fulfills Texas DPS state course standards with an official certificate of completion emailed to you once you pass the course. You must provide us with a copy of your ID and provide your last six of your Social Security number (required by Texas DPS for all certificates) before we email you the certificate.
This course is required by the Texas Department of Public Safety-Regulatory Services Division to anyone wishing to work in the private security industry. In accordance with Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code and DPS-RSD rules, this course must be completed (including a written exam), to be able to issue you a “Non-Commissioned” (unarmed/basic security) license.
- DPS-RSD Regulations/Actions
- Role of Security Officers
- Police Interaction
- Security Conflict Resolution
- Use of Force
- Detainment Vs Arrest
- Radio Procedures
- Report Writing
- Response to Emergencies
- Applicable Penal Code Studies
- State Exam
Non-commission Security License
A person commits an offense if the person: (1) impersonates a commissioned or non-commissioned security officer with the intent to induce another to submit to the person’s pretended authority or to rely on the person’s pretended acts of a security officer; or (2) knowingly purports to exercise any function that requires registration as a non-commissioned security officer or a security officer commission. (b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
TCTA Note: A class “A” misdemeanor is an arrestable offense and you will be transported to jail – not given a ticket. Take the class, get licensed and save yourself the time & trouble. It does not state, “wearing a security uniform;” it states “any function” of a security type – so don’t play games and risk it, get licensed.
Sign Up For Level-2 Security Training Today – Visit Our Enrollment Page
DPS-RSD statement: Please be advised under the Private Security Act (Occ. Code Chapter 1702) and Administrative Rule 35.4 (37 Tex. Admin. Code 1), a criminal conviction may disqualify you from a registration, commission or license under the Act. You may wish to review Rule 35.4’s list of disqualifying offenses and the related periods of ineligibility, available on the department’s website at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb/index.htm (follow the link to Administrative Code). You also have a right to request from the department a criminal history evaluation letter under Occupations Code Section 53.102.