OFFICIAL STATE SECURITY BODYGUARD (PPO) COURSE
NOTICE: The state of Texas considers it a criminal offense to perform security-related work without a license. If you or your employer avoid using the terminology “security” but carry out the duties as one (such as event staff, bouncer, courtesy officer, etc); this also includes bodyguard, executive protection, and church security. See section at the bottom of the page.
DPS will require proof of a Level 3 Commission training course in order to process your Level 4 Bodyguard license. If you need the Level 3 Commission course also, please sign up for both.
Note: You do not have to be employed prior to taking this class
If you are ready to be paid more than the average guard, want to work special events, backstage, bodyguard V.I.P.’s, and perform special protection details, then this is the class you are required to take.
This class is required by the state of Texas to allow you to work as a Personal Protection Officer (bodyguard/executive protection), which also allows you to work in plain-clothes and carry concealed while on duty. Many states will not allow security persons to do this, Texas does and this is the class to certify you. Our course is 30 hours and includes classroom and live fire exercises. Don’t waste your money attending a bodyguard class that provides no advanced range time or Instructors that are not actively performing bodyguard operations – this is serious business.
Become a Licensed Bodyguard – Level 4 Course
This course was designed by DPS-RSD to give the average working security officer short exposure and a basic foundation to the bodyguard industry. To be a professional bodyguard, you will need lots of training and experience that far exceeds the State’s course. With that said, we wanted to exceed the State’s minimum standards of only 15 hours, but we also are in tune with the fact that most students can’t afford a $3,500.00 Black Water© type course nor be able to attend a week-long class. We feel we have accomplished our goal of providing a well run basic program with our client’s budget and time restraints factored in to get you going and get you certified. Please take special note that if you took a bodyguard or executive protection course before in another state- Texas DPS will NOT recognize that training in order to give you a Texas Bodyguard license, you will need to attend the program made by Texas DPS.
Also note- there is no such thing as a National Bodyguard License you see online or offered by out of state schools- those are good for additional information, but mean nothing in Texas as far as a course requirement. We are not discounting your background or prior training, you simply must take and pass the Texas state exam and go through the course.
This class, in no way, is meant to completely prepare you to work as a professional bodyguard after three days, but it fulfills and exceeds the State’s standards, provides you with the certificate to get your license, and gives you a foundation on which to build your knowledge and experience on. More than three days will be required for you to be considered ready to protect any client, or for this industry as a whole, by any measure.
It will be up to you and your agency to build on the fundamentals provided and seek additional training and experience to become a top-notch professional in the industry.
Currently, DPS-RSD only requires you to attend a 15-hour class and here is the breakdown right out of their manual which is a joke (sorry DPS but true). We sincerely question if the people who made the state manual actually performed any real Personal Protection at all. Many sections DPS placed in the course repeat areas of the Commission class (as filler) such as Use Of Force and Weaponless Defense again- factoring you already had to attend a Commissioned officer anyway.
Texas Requirements for Bodyguard Licensing
DPS’ Current Minimum Standards:
- 10 Hours must be spent on Weaponless Defense
- 2.5 Hours must be spent on Pepper Spray
- 1 Hour must be spent on Use of Force
As you can see the mandatory requirements outlined in the State manual adds up to 13.5 hours of a 15-hour class – not counting introduction and testing. Their course also does not include any range time and it does not allow any time to teach you the actual business of being a bodyguard and how to properly operate as one. Some schools have added on time and use it towards range operations; but again, very little time on “Bodyguard-101” which should be the “meat and potatoes” of the course.
At TCTA, we follow the State’s course manual and then we exceed the State’s minimum requirements and provide you with a well-rounded, basic bodyguard certification course, which is recognized throughout the state. We have added many suggestions and recommendations from security employers and prior students to our class to make it what it is today.
We have doubled the amount of training that the state requires and thus, our class is now a 30-hour course of instruction and certification to better prepare and immerse you in the field. Now, are we going to give all the secrets away for $250.00? Absolutely not, but again this will get you going and certified.
Contrary to the State’s basic “Intro to bodyguard” class, we spend a lot of time teaching you the business end and operational end of the industry. You have to know logistically how to operate, how to prepare, what is required, client interaction, licensing, and how to run your detail from A-Z. You’ll need to know what arrangements and plans must be made and how to make them. This is no longer guard work where your company takes care of everything and you just show up with a suit and dark glasses. You will be expected to operate on a much higher and increased professional level, and know what you’re doing. Anyone can stand there and be a “bullet sponge;” that’s not what this job is all about. You’re the client’s security specialist and they expect a professional and smooth operation.
Any expert will tell you not to waste your money on schools that offer no weapons training for an advanced skill such as bodyguard/executive protection. Due to the fact DPS-RSD does not require additional weapons training as part of their Level-4 class outline, many schools have elected not to offer it as they are not being forced to ( and saves them operating costs). We believe additional firearms training should be included in this course, as such we exceed the state’s standards and provide it.
Ask yourself, “Would I hire a Bodyguard that has No Official Advanced Weapons Training?”
All students will be exposed to drawing from concealed holsters, and shooting both strong and weak hand. All students will perform basic drills such as: Reflex fire, shooting from cover, shooting from different positions, shooting on the move, along with basic drills and exercises that directly relate to protection work.
Please note: This is not an “Operator course,” Sniper course, and/or paramilitary tactical course, nor do we attempt to play it or this school off that way. This is a “Basic Intro to Bodyguard course” (as we like to call it), which provides a wealth of information for the newcomers, to include fulfills the State’s requirements for licensing. We must advise all students looking for an Operator Class, State Department Training, or Tactical Operations, S.W.A.T.T., and deployment courses that this is NOT the class.
(Those courses begin at $3,500.00 all the way up to $25,000.00 per student – Big difference from $275.00 right?)
Click the picture of the book below to get some great information relating to a Mass Shooter – a must have in this line of work.
Click the picture of the med-kit (below) for great information on treating a gunshot wound
OUR COURSE POINTS:
- Pre-Planning & Threat Assessments
- Client Contact/Interaction
- Force Options
- Exterior/Interior Procedures
- Response to Incidents & Threats
- Advanced Handgun Course
- Firing Range
- Pepper Spray Certification
- Weaponless Defensive Tactics
- Overt & Covert Protection
- Escalation/De-escalation of Force
- Protection at a Location
- Protection on the Move
- Logistics of Security Detail/Checklists
- Official State Training Course
- Official State Exam
- Additional Classroom Handouts
- PowerPoint Presentation
- Training Videos
- Firearms Proficiency Course Included
- Advanced Handgun Course Included
- Weapons provided at no cost, If needed
- Holsters provided at no cost, If needed
- Range Fees Included
- Hearing Protection Included
- Eye Protection Included
- Use of many Training Aids
- Bodyguard Certificate of Completion
- Pepper Spray Certificate of Completion
Each student that completes our course will receive this Executive Protection Detail Lapel Pin, which is becoming the new standard in the industry here in Texas.
(These Pins are also available for sale via our Online Store or Classroom)
Please Read These Laws:
OCC §1702.3875. IMPERSONATING SECURITY OFFICER; OFFENSE.
NOTE: Bodyguards, you are still “Security Officers” and the same applies.
TCTA Note: Class A misdemeanors are arrestable offenses, which results in jail time – not ticketing.
OCC §1702.161. SECURITY OFFICER COMMISSION REQUIRED.
You cannot accept employment as an armed guard if you don’t have a commission license from DPS. Be sure to read and fully understand this code.
Level-4 PPO’s must also hold a valid Level 3 Commission license – This prevents ex-felons from performing Bodyguard services, as ex-felons (per Federal law) cannot possess a firearm to carry or even pass the required Commission class.
DPS-RSD statement: Please be advised under the Private Security Act (Occ. Code Chapter 1702) and Administrative Rule 35.4 (37 Tex. Admin. Code 1), a criminal conviction may disqualify you from a registration, commission or license under the Act. You may wish to review Rule 35.4’s list of disqualifying offenses and the related periods of ineligibility, available on the department’s website at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb/index.htm (follow the link to Administrative Code). You also have a right to request from the department a criminal history evaluation letter under Occupations Code Section 53.102
Sign Up for Our Level 4 Bodyguard Course, Visit The Enrollment Page Here