OFFICIAL STATE SECURITY COMMISSIONED OFFICER COURSE
NOTICE: In Texas, it is a crime to perform any security-related work without a license; it doesn’t matter if you or your employer don’t use the term “security,” if you act in the capacity of a security officer (i.e. courtesy officer, event staff, bouncer, etc.), you are committing a crime – See section at the bottom of the page.
DPS will require proof of a Level-2 Non-Commission training class in order to process your Level-3 Commission license. If you need the Level- 2 Non-Commission class also, please sign up for both. We provide a FREE Lv-2 class if also taking the Lv-3 course.
Note: You do not have to be employed prior to taking this class
OFFICIAL STATE COURSE: ONLY $199.00!! (a full five day course with live fire range)
CLASS INCLUDES BATON, OC, HANDCUFF TRAINING, and WEAPON RENTAL FOR FREE
This class is often referred to as “the gun class,” but actually provides 35 hours of non-firearm related topics that everyone needs to know and only 10 hours of firearms training. In our opinion, this class should be the minimum standard for all security persons (armed or unarmed), as the two-three hour Level-2 course just is not enough training by any industry standard.
Our class is jam-packed with much-needed information that far exceeds the State’s minimum guidelines. Please view the Course points/breakdown at the bottom of the page. Once you take this class with TCTA, all your required Lv-3 recertifications are FREE. Handguns and shotguns are provided for FREE to use with TCTA – your price also includes range fees and all necessary course materials and equipment (ammo not included).
Take the full class or a recertification with us and you too will be enrolled in our FREE “lifetime” recertification program. Simply the best thing rolling!! Don’t be fooled by the undercutters and their pricing – you later find out you have to pay a weapon rental (which is $25.00), some make you pay rage fees, charge extra for shotgun qualification plus shotgun rental, and charge for recertifications. Furthermore, we won’t cancel or postpone a class on you like many students have reported has occurred at other security training schools.
Basic Weaponless Defense is a required block of instruction in the Lv-3 Commission officer course which will be given by our certified instructors. Please ensure you arrive in comfortable clothing, and comfortable footwear such as tennis shoes (not flip flops, sandals, high heels, work boots, cowboy boots, tactical boots etc.). You can bring these items with you and change when you arrive, or you can be dressed ready to go when you arrive- up to you. Everyone must participate in this block of instruction however, if you have physical or health limitations then please discuss that with instructors when you arrive so we can work with you. This class also contains light physical activity each day, whereas you only have to participate at your pace and ability (sitting down the entire time or the inability to move at all will not be acceptable taking our class).
Commission Security Licensing in Austin and Surrounding Areas
REQUALIFICATION CLASS: ONLY $75.00 !!
(FREE for returning TCTA students)
In accordance with the rules set forth in Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code, DPS-RSD requires that you attend and submit your renewal to them no later than 30 days prior to your license expiration date. As a requalification student, you are only required by the state to attend a six (6) hour block of instruction including a written exam and live fire range qualification. A portion of your training includes the Continuing Education requirement on “Ethics.” Returning students of TCTA receive FREE Requalifications.
SHOTGUN INCLUDED: FREE!!
DPS-RSD does not “require” that you take a shotgun course as part of the Level-3 commission class. DPS-RSD will add a shotgun to your license if you received shotgun instruction with your Level-3. Many armored car carrier services and other assignments are equipping security members with Shotguns; this addition to your permit is highly recommended. We automatically include instruction and shotgun qualification with every Level-3 class at no additional charge as our way to help better train and prepare the security professionals of today. Our shotgun rental is also free of charge.
- Laws & Regulations, Notes & Report Writing
- Crime Scene Protection
- Officer Safety/Survival
- Use of Force, Criminal/Civil
- Conflict Resolution
- OODA Loop
- Defensive Tactics
- Intro to Handcuffing, Baton, and OC
- Live Fire: Handgun & Shotgun
- State’s 100 Question Written Exam
- FREE Lifetime Recertifications
- Official State Training Manual
- Official State Exam
- Additional Classroom Handouts (Additional 50 Pages of Information)
- Training Videos (Combined 3 hours of outstanding videos and scenarios)
- Handgun Qualification Course Included
- Shotgun Qualification Course (FREE)
- Weapon Rental (FREE)
- Equipment Rental (FREE)
- Range Fees Included
- Hearing & Eye Protection Included
- Use of many Training Aids
- PowerPoint Presentations
- Professional Certificate of Completion
- Baton, Handcuffing and Pepper Spray instruction included for FREE
OCC §1702.3875. IMPERSONATING SECURITY OFFICER; OFFENSE.
Impersonating a non-commissioned or commissioned security officer is a Class A misdemeanor; for detailed information, read the Occupations Code here.
TCTA Note: This offense is arrestable; you will not be given a ticket, you will go to jail. Enroll today and get licensed!
OCC §1702.161. SECURITY OFFICER COMMISSION REQUIRED.
An individual may not accept employment as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission license from DPS-RSD. A person (or company) may not hire or employ an individual as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission license.
Per Federal law, ex-felons are prohibited from buying or possessing a firearm; as such, you will not be licensed as a Commissioned Officer or allowed to possess a weapon to qualify as part of the course.
DPS-RSD statement: Please be advised under the Private Security Act (Occ. Code Chapter 1702) and Administrative Rule 35.4 (37 Tex. Admin. Code 1), a criminal conviction may disqualify you from a registration, commission or license under the Act. You may wish to review Rule 35.4’s list of disqualifying offenses and the related periods of ineligibility, available on the department’s website at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb/index.htm (follow the link to Administrative Code). You also have a right to request from the department a criminal history evaluation letter under Occupations Code Section 53.102
Visit Our Enrollment Page and Sign Up For Level 3 Training Today